Village Poets of Sunland-Tujunga

Village Poets of Sunland Tujunga is a group of former Poets Laureate of Sunland Tujunga who organize poetry readings in their community, write poetry, and publish books, making sure that poetry life is rich and vibrant in the foothills.

Every two years or so Village Poets organize a competition for the Poet-Laureate of Sunland-Tujunga and, in order to involve the local community in the selection of its Poet-Laureate, establish a Poetry and Literature Committee of Sunland-Tujunga which selects the next Poet. The term of Elsa S. Frausto, Poet Laureate since 2014, has been extended to April 2017. On April 23, 2017, she passed the laurel wreath and the poets' heart locket to Pamela Shea, the ninth Poet Laureate who will serve until 2019.

Poets Laureate at the Passing of the Laurels Ceremony, 2017.
Photo by Bill Skiles. L to R: Elsa Frausto, Dorothy Skiles,
Marlene Hitt, Joe DeCenzo, Pamela Shea, and Maja Trochimczyk.

Another important project of Village Poets is the Monthly Village Poets Reading at Bolton Hall Museum in Tujunga, CA. You can read about past and future featured poets on the Village Poets Blog. The upcoming readings are also announced in local "good news" paper - The Voice of the Village and on various Facebook groups.

Village Poets of Sunland Tujunga:

Village Poets with Featured Poet Stephen Linsteadt and guest poets. Seated: Marlene Hitt, Dorothy
Skiles and Maja Trochimczyk. Standing: Ms. Jones, Rick Wilson, Rick Dutton, Kathabela Wilson,
Joe DeCenzo, Lois P. Jones, Mira Mataric, Stephen Linsteadt, Taura Scott, Bryan Story, Pauli Dutton,
Sharon Hawley, Elsa Frausto, Mariano Zaro, NN, Mari Werner. October 2012, Bolton Hall Museum.

(C) 2013-16 by Village Poets of Sunland-Tujunga.
All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission from
Village Poets of Sunland-Tujunga is prohibited.